History · My Life · Photography

HEARD Museum

Have you been to the Heard Museum in Phoenix, Arizona yet?!?

Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 9.24.25 AM

If not, you need to go! It is so beautiful! But make sure you eat before hand! There is so much inside that you will need your energy. My mom and I went together before lunch time, and about halfway through the museum we both looked at each other and said we were so hungry!

Right now, they have a Frida Kahlo exhibit and it is AMAZING! Her originals give you a glimpse into her life.

My favorite Frida original is the painting of her and the monkeys.

IMG_2344

The Heard Museum is focused around Native American heritage, and history. The museum shows you so much more than what you learn in school.

Reading some of the different personal accounts from the Native American children that were forced to go to boarding schools and into a whole new place was heartbreaking.

IMG_2352

Many teachers today just glide right over the different horrendous things that the United States government has done, and as much as I love this country I will not let this history be forgotten. When I become a teacher, I want my students to understand what has happened in the past and what we can do now to make a brighter future.

On top of all the beautiful art works and deep history, there are also some amazing photography opportunities at the Heard Museum.

I had so much fun walking through the museum and learning about a different culture.

10/10 recommend going to the Heard Museum.

 

 

 

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18988135/?claim=v3t7va6975x”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

 

One thought on “HEARD Museum

Leave a Reply

